Chasing the Sun

Come with me on a journey through light, and darkness.

   I was born with the sun high in the sky. It stood there tall and immovable every day, shining light down upon us. Our land was bathed in this cascade of light, clean and vital, like a polished jewel. Trees grew lofty, reaching up to the life-giving sun, with branches thick and strong to hold the load of rich and full fruit they grew. This fruit was like mouthfuls of the sun itself. Every bite you felt course through your body and spread the light into your soul. There were fields like oceans that flowed across the land, and for every field there was a great store house for the bounty they brought us.

   It was not just the crops that flourished under the sun. My people prospered too. Every day we woke with the sun as it began its determined ascent to the pinnacle of the sky, safe in the knowledge it would shine down on our lives nourishing us and blessing our lives. Every day we feasted and danced. When we tired of dancing we feasted, and when we were full from feasting we danced. When life is so blessed what else is there to do but celebrate it? We celebrated our fortune, our security, and most of all we celebrated the sun, the source of all of our blessings. The sun had always been there and it always would be. Even the ground beneath our feet could be torn up, taken away, and changed. The sun though as much as it was a beacon of life, was a symbol of permanence. Just as our ancestors had lived, loved, and danced illuminated by its rays, so to would our descendants. We took this for granted. It was not even considered that there was an alternative. We were so sure our paradise would last eternally. Just as anyone who becomes blinded and coddled by certainty, the revelation that we were wrong was made even more shocking.

   One day when I was ten years old, I woke with the first licks of sunlight lapping at my face through the open window the same as every day. Except today something felt wrong, and I did not know what. I tried to shake the feeling but could not. As I went about our town, I realised everyone felt the same. No one could pinpoint why but something felt off. The day went on and as the sun carried on rising as normal, and no reason for the strange feeling became apparent we carried on. The next day was the same, a strange feeling with no obvious reason and no real problem. The day after followed the same pattern, and those that followed that. The feeling of foreboding became stronger and harder to shrug off until it became a permanent worry. The sun kept on shining but a cloud of suspicion fell over us. The dancing stopped. The feasting ceased. Still nothing happened. No problem meant there was no solution that could be sought and the gloom in the light deepened.

   Weeks passed us by without cheer and left us in a maddening state of in between, neither day nor night, no future and no past. At long last the reason became apparent. As the sun had given us life it had also controlled our lives. Its permanence was a guide, and a comfort. Every day it rose and set. The path it followed never changed. Every day was as long as the next. It could always be relied upon. Except now it seemed it could not. The days were getting shorter. That was why we had all felt so strange. Nothing had changed, and yet everything had. At the start it had only been only a few minutes difference. But it may as well have been hours. Even such a small change was as fundamental as up becoming down, we just had not been able to recognise it. Now after weeks had passed and we had lost over an hour it was undeniable. In short order worry became blind panic. There were only more unanswerable questions: why was this happening? Would it keep getting worse? What would happen to us if it did get worse? No answers, only new days with new fears.

   One day, if it could even be called day anymore, I sat gazing up at the sun willing it to give me answers to what was happening. Its silence was as infuriating as its brightness. It was still the same sun! It still shone down upon us with brilliant life-giving light as ever it had done. Why then did it now speed across the sky in such a hurry as if it wanted to get away from us as quickly as possible? Had we done something wrong? It was silent. The sun carried on shining as ever and moving, imperceptibly so, further and faster away. What had once seemed like a benevolent and selfless well was now cruel and indifferent. My own small worries and anger did nothing to stop it on its speeding path down beyond the mountains that marked night.

   Life stopped. My people had always risen with the sun. As it rose later so too did we, losing more and more time to sleep, and avoiding our new reality. When we did rise it was not the same. Before we had grabbed each day with the warmth and energy one greets a friend, and moved forward confidently. Now lethargy sapped us all. Fruit still grew on the trees. The fields were still bountiful. We left them that way though. Why bother? Those that could muster the will or energy to leave their houses wandered like sleeping souls, lost in the world of waking. We had become ghosts that did not belong. The quiet of a graveyard permeated the silence, the sound of feasting and dancing was already long forgotten. Worse still, the days grew ever shorter, speeding up the cycle of misery. More days passed, and they only grew darker.

   Gradually the sun seemed to tire as much as us. It no longer rose high and proud across the sky. Now it slinked lazily, perhaps embarrassed, perhaps tired, low and impotent. It streaked passed us a shadow of its former self. I still looked at it every day. My earlier anger and frustration had been replaced with pity. The sun had blazed a glorious path, dominating the sky, the jewel in the heart of the crown. Now it was like a wounded animal, limping off to die. With all my strength I urged it to remember its strength, to recover the majesty that had given it the power to give life to us. I wanted it to fight. It seemed like it was just giving in to whatever was happening. I couldn’t believe that. I could not allow that. Sadly, it seemed like I was the only one. Everyone else was being dragged down the same as the sun. They woke later and later, they slept earlier and earlier. While they were awake they were as limp and impotent as the sun. No one even talked about what was happening, let alone what could be done about it. Surely something could be done about it?

   Clouds began to gather, and once they came, they did not leave. The days became even darker. It seemed every time we thought it could not get worse it did. The clouds compounded the nightmare we now lived in. Some feeble light still managed to crawl through their suffocating barrier, but it brought no warmth, no life. Our world which had become sick was now dying. The fields and trees that had been lush with colour turned black and died. In a bitter twist of irony these hateful clouds seemed to rise from beyond the distant mountains, those same mountains behind which the sun sank at the end of every day. What malevolence was in those mountains that could give rise to poisonous clouds and sap the sun of its strength? The question begged an answer, and there was only way to find that answer.

   No one even raised an eyebrow as I prepared for my journey, let alone said anything. They were just corpses waiting for their coffins at this point. Some were in coffins. Death seemed to permeate the air. The cloud only grew thicker and the sun weaker. Day and night bore no importance any more, neither could be distinguished from the other, just black turning to shades of grey, and my people with it. But I still remembered dancing until my feet ached. I remembered eating so much my whole body felt warm with satisfaction. I remembered the light so dazzling and brilliant it called to your soul to live! I still remembered what this world could be, what it should be, and while I could remember that I would not let it go.

   It was early in the morning when I set off. At least I thought it was, though it could just as easily have been in the afternoon, who could tell anymore. I was scared, of course I was. I had no idea what I would find at my journeys end, or if would even make it to my journeys end. In the deepening night there had been noises beyond our town, hideous wails and howls that were bone chilling. I could only hope that whatever monsters lurked in the dark world left me alone and missed my tiny presence. In spite of all my fears I felt better than I had since the sun had started failing. The prospect of action, an attempt at affecting change, spurred me and lifted my spirits. It might all be for nothing but that did not matter. I would not be an impotent bystander to this calamity. I would do what I could, and that would be enough for me.

   I slipped out like a ghost among ghosts. No one noticed no one cared, apart from me. Hopefully they would care when I returned. If…

   My buoyant mood soon faded as I went out into the world. Death and decay were everywhere. It wasn’t that I was expecting it be otherwise. But to see so much, and for it to continue unrelenting as I went, it weighed on me. The enormity of the crisis was impressed on me more and more as the miles went. I began to wonder if the world was not dying, but already dead. Was I going to try and seek a cure for a disease, or to attempt a resurrection? Everywhere was brown and black. Rivers and streams if they ran at all were sickly trickles of poison. Trees which had once grown full with fruit, their branches bushy with leaves and life, were now stripped bare. They stood empty, cruel skeletons, with thin, scratching branches that reached down at me like claws. This world had become harsh and dangerous, and anything that survived in it still had become so too.

   What progress I made was hideously slow. All my short life I had lived marching to the beat of the sun. It rose early and set late, blazing gloriously, firing life. While I was more determined than anyone else from my town, I could not change the habits of a lifetime so easily. If the sun now rose late, so did I. Its light was so weak that it often did not wake me as it rose, and it was late into the short days before I stirred, with only a few hours before it set again, and my energy also waned. This was not good enough. The days were still growing ever shorter, and I began to fear and expect the day where the sun would not rise. I needed to get to the mountains before then. If I continued like this I would not and I would be lost wandering blindly in the dark. The sun set and I kept going. My body and mind cried out to stop in the darkness. But I kept my feet going forward, a few more miles every night in spite of every instinct telling me it was wrong. The next change was even harder as I forced my body to wake when the sun had not even risen. Every part of me rebelled against this. I felt ill. My people just weren’t meant to exist without the sun. As terrible as I felt, as hard as it made it to continue this only spurred me on more. How could it not? These hardships which I was going through only proved how necessary it was to save the sun. I was struggling to survive like this, and I still had the luxury of a few precious hours of poor sunlight. When the sun did not rise it would mean the end for everyone I knew and loved. So, I carried on. I shouldered the burdens knowing that the alternative was far worse.

   The world of night was a terrifying place. My eyes were now useless as I wandered blind. I relied on my hands and feet, feeling my way along the miles, just trying avoid tripping over a root or falling into a pit, not always successfully. When I could see in the half-light, I could not trust my sight as every tree became a murderer standing over me with a knife, and every boulder a snarling monster. The bats were the worst. They came flapping out of the darkness to hound me, sending me running and inevitably falling. Without my sight every sound became more noticeable, and more terrifying. Wind blowing through the trees was translated by my ears as the fearsome rush of an attack. The rustling of leaves signalled some banshee was floating towards me to steal my soul. Eventually the mental and physical strain would be too much and I would collapse in some hole or crevice, left at the mercy of this cruel world I found myself in. But I would wake every day, not quite safe, not quite whole, yet still able to continue. So, tired, alone, and terrified, I did continue, because I had to.

   At long last I reached the mountains. The ground began rising up to meet them. I looked back towards my home, but it was already lost in the night. The sun was somewhere behind the clouds above me and would soon slink away behind the mountains again to leave me in complete darkness again. This was an evil place. The shadows here were longer and darker than I had seen anywhere else. Nothing good grew, there were not even the sickly remains of trees that had prospered when the sun was at its full strength. Where had I come to? The mountains stood over me leering. I felt like a mouse caught in a trap.

   The next day (what a thing to call it!) the sun did not rise. I woke in darkness which by now I was growing used to even if I was still not comfortable with it. The dark did not stop me though and I set to walking, well climbing now really as I entered the mountains properly. Even in this terrible place something felt especially wrong. I looked back the way I had come for the pale sickly light of the failing sun, and saw nothing. There was only darkness wherever I looked. I spun around in a panicked frenzy. It had happened. What I had feared all along. The sun had not risen. It would never rise again unless I found a way to make it rise. As I span, I fell. My face was buried in dirt. My hands and knees were scraped and bloody. I lay there crying. It was too much. There was darkness everywhere and I was lost in it. In that moment I felt such a failure and that all of this was my fault. Who was I to think that I could save anyone? Better it would have been if I had just stayed back in the town and given up there. At least I would be more comfortable than I was now. Thinking about the town I thought about my people who had become grey spectres, living but not alive. I thought about all the trees that had withered. Then I thought about how it had been before. Vibrant people who laughed and shouted at their neighbours with good cheer and danced in the streets. I remembered all those feasts and finding delicacy after delicacy that maintained my appetite for hours. I thought of how all of it used to be. How good life could be. I hated this darkness around me, the mocking mountains, the poisonous clouds. How wrong it was that these horrible things should inhabit the same world in which so much good had flourished. I could not allow that. With new determination I raised myself to my feet. I had come this far; I would go further.

   Somehow, I made it through the mountains. Don’t ask me how I did it, or how long it took. I stumbled and crawled my way blind through hidden passages and crevices. There were times I was thankful for the darkness as my hand met slimy somethings, some of which moved as I touched them, or when I heard a hiss or a snarl and would surely have fled from whatever creature was there. This place would have sent anyone mad if it was illuminated. It was not meant to be seen. As much as I fell, and bumped into walls of rock, however many days and nights I wandered lost in that place I never stopped. I couldn’t. If I had not kept moving, I would surely have been eaten by some foul creature. By remaining mobile I kept those blind terrors from me, and left them to their own dark haunts. Every part of me ached, every joint was sore. I began to accept that this was how my life would end. Until I saw a light.

   As a starving man would eat anything offered without question, I ran to the light. It was faint but it split the darkness nonetheless, a glow in the distance. I scrambled my way to it as fast as I could, not questioning what it was, not thinking about the anger that was in this light. After so long in darkness I would take whatever I could get. As I reached the summit of the mountains and looked down into the other side I wished for darkness once again. The mountain side was burning. Fire was everywhere. Flames reached up to a smoke choked sky like arms raised in praise to some evil god. I had never seen such destruction. This was where the toxic clouds that had covered the sky all the way to my town had come from. Seeing their origin, I realised they were even more terrible than I had imagined. They were death. The smoke burned my eyes and my lungs, I had to get away from here, but behind me was only darkness and somewhere out here was the sun. I leapt over the final stony outcrop and ran at the fire. As I came closer to it, I realised there were corridors between the burning that I could get through safely. I charged through one of these as quickly as I could.

   The burning stopped. There were flaming torches set up around that illuminated the blackened ground, thick with ash. Everything else that had been living here had been burned, or been used to make the settlement I saw a little further way off. Finally, it seemed like I was getting somewhere, though where that was, I was still in the dark about. I approached the town with caution.

   As I came closer to it, I realised that this was not a town, nothing so permanent. This was a camp, full of tents and simple wooden structures made from whatever had not been burned. There were fires and torches dotted around to provide some light. There would have to be in this world of permanent night or else all would be blind. I guessed that it was night proper now as no one was moving about. They must all be sleeping I thought. Still, I didn’t let my guard down. A part of me, a naïve part, after spending so long alone with nobody to help me wanted to run into a tent and ask for answers, surely these people would want the sun back as much as me? Luckily, I ignored this. I had spent a long time alone, being cautious, seeing monsters at every turn. It would have been nice to run into a friendly band of strangers who had the same goals as me. That would be too good to be true in this world where even the sun could not be trusted. They had burnt everything on the mountainside which I found incredibly suspect, and needlessly cruel. Until I had a good reason, I knew I could not trust these people.

   Creeping about the camp was easy as I stuck to the numerous shadows left by the small fires. My journey here had taught me to be quiet so I passed through the camp like a shadow. It took hours. The camp was huge. There were hundreds of tents and there must have been thousands of people in them. This camp was vastly bigger than my town. It was as if an entire civilisation had migrated. I was confused pondering just what was happening here. As the minutes ticked by, I seemed to be finding only more tents, but no answers about the people in them, or what had happened to the sun, until all of a sudden, I did.

   At the end of one of the rows of tents I noticed the glow of a fire that was larger than any I had seen so far in the camp. I sped towards it excited and ran around the corner, and almost straight into the thick legs of a man. Thankfully I had remained silent as I ran, and dived straight into shadow. The man looked fierce, and ugly. He was covered in foul metal and leather, and in his hand and was a hideous looking metal implement like I had never seen before, covered in spikes and sharp edges.

   For a moment I feared for my life and counted my heartbeats waiting to be discovered. Apparently though I was safe for now. The man carried on standing there, snorting through his nostrils, and oblivious to me. As I calmed down, I became intrigued. Obviously, this man was here to guard something, and I was sure it would have something to do with my purpose here.

   Past the man was an area clear of tents. At the end of the other paths between the tents that led to the clearing were other guards clad in the same repugnant way as the one nearest to me, all with equally cruel looking implements. Around the clearing was a great concentration of burning torches, lighting this area more than any other part in the camp, and lighting what all the guards were there to guard. It was a cage. A hideous metal prison. Inside the cage there was a person crumpled on the floor. I looked around to all the guards. They were all facing out away from the cage. Clearly, they expected any threat to be stopped coming down the roads. Well they hadn’t been expecting me then, I thought as I emerged out of the shadows, and ran openly but quietly to the cage.

   The crumpled figure inside of the cage was a woman. I pitied her instantly. She looked completely defeated, brought so low it was as if she was collapsing into the ground because her own weight was too much to bear. The dress she was wearing may have once been beautiful but was now muddied and torn. Her knees and elbows were scraped and bloody, and around her limbs were strange rings of bruises and burns. I realised strong, rough ropes must have been used to subdue her. There were so many of these wounds. She must have fought hard for all of them to be required to subdue her. There must have been a time when this woman was strong and proud. Despite how thin and frail she was now, I could see that she was tall, and though she was only skin and bones, those bones were broad. At her full strength she would have been queenly indeed.

   I stayed quiet taking in all the wreck of her body. I had never seen such cruelty inflicted on another before. In spite of my sadness I needed to talk to her. I was pondering what was the best, and kindest, way to engage her, when her head snapped around to look at me. The suddenness nearly made me jump back, and an involuntary breath leapt out of me. Every other detail about her became instantly unimportant. From within a drawn and sallow face her eyes gazed out at me, and they glowed! This was not a metaphor to hyperbolise the impression they made on me. They literally glowed. Not only that but as soon as those eyes looked at me, I felt a warmth come over me that I had not felt in months. It was the same warmth I used to feel every day as I danced and feasted. With my heart pounding and my hands shaking I asked the woman in a whisper, “Are you the sun?” The woman’s eyes looked sadly down and away from me. As her gaze left me, I felt their glow and heat fade, like when the sun goes behind a cloud. The night seemed to grow around me, the fires loomed, and I looked around with renewed fear at the guards. I needed to hurry. “I’ve come to rescue you,” I said to her with as much hope as I could muster. She smiled at me sadly as if to say “that’s very kind of you, but futile”. She had to believe I would get her out of here. “I’m not with these people!” I impressed upon her. “I come from a town over the mountain, far that way. Everyone else there gave up when you disappeared. But I didn’t. I came all this way to find you, and set you free.” The sun looked at me more intently. She seemed to be saying “You travelled all this way? Through all that danger? On your own? But you’re only a child.” I stared back at her defiantly. “How do I get you out of here then?” I asked simply. The sun stared back as if weighing up her chances with me, and then looked to the lock in the door of the cage and then at one of the guards. So, I needed to get a key to unlock the cage it seemed. “Right then,” I said. “I’ll be back soon,” and I headed towards the guard she had motioned to.

   I crept slowly and silently toward the brutish guard. If he turned around and saw me, he could squash me with one stomp off his heavy boot, smash my face in with the giant axe he carried, or squeeze the life out of me with one hand. All these horrible fates and a hundred more sped through my mind as I approached him. With great effort I silenced my own mind, and focussed on taking the next step as quietly and carefully as possible. Soon enough I was close to him, and far too soon I could smell him. Trying my best not to breathe I came even closer until I could see dangling from his belt was the key. With great care, slowly, slowly, I slipped the key off the loop, and into my hands.

   Relieved with my success I sped back to the cage and set the sun free. Perhaps I expected that to be the end to this story, and for the sun to shine bright and high in the sky once again straight away. There was still more to be done though. The sun had sat up and watched as I retrieved the key and struggled slowly to her feet when I opened the door. She took a few shaky steps forward, and stood swaying slightly, holding my shoulder for support. “What now?” I asked. The sun looked off into the distance. It seemed there was something over there that we needed to get before the sun could return to her powers. We snuck off, keeping to the shadows in between tents. Soon we had left the guards behind. That did not make me feel safe though. The sun kept striding gallantly, but she was clearly in pain, and leaned heavily on me. On top of this I could hear people stirring in the tents.

   A horn sounded from behind us and it was answered by many more. I looked back in terror. The sun carried on looking ahead though. We had found what we needed. Straight ahead of us in another clearing amongst the tents was a cage far bigger than the one the sun had been imprisoned in. Inside of the cage was the most impressive animal I had ever seen. It was a horse, though it must have been at least three times bigger than any horse I had ever seen, and folded at its sides were wings! Attached to the winged horse was a magnificent chariot. Perhaps it was made of gold or just shined with some magic, either way even in the low light of the fires it was dazzling. My awe was short lived though as a dozen angry guards approached us. Defeat seemed inevitable. The sun looked down at me and motioned for me to cover my eyes. Confused I did so. Even with my eyes closed and covered by my hand I could tell there had been an incredible flash of light. As darkness returned, I opened my eyes to see the guards writhing on the floor in agony, their hands covering the bloody holes where their eyes had been. The sun slumped down on me even more. She had used the last of her strength.

   The horns were growing even louder, and closer. We had just shown to everyone where we were. There was no more time to waste. I let the sun collapse gently to the floor, and ran over to the guards to look for the key to this cage. After I found it on one of the blind guards, I opened the cage. The winged horse was held in place by cruel ropes. Using the smallest weapon, I could find on the guards I cut them off. Time seemed to be speeding up as my heart beat faster and faster. As fast as I moved it felt like we had been there for an hour. Surely, we would be caught soon. The majestic creature did not take much coaxing to leave the cage, and trotted straight over to the sun. There were terrible wounds all over the horse. Where one of the wings joined its body there was an open wound. Someone had tried to cut the wing off! The sun looked up and smiled to see her companion come to her. She crawled, with my assistance into the chariot. Being inside of it seemed to reinvigorate her, and she stood, taller and prouder than I had seen her yet. As I climbed in with her, I saw a mass of flames and metal glinting in the fire light coming at us. The sun’s face twisted in contempt as she took the reins and the winged horse leapt into the air.

   The rush was incredible. I gripped the side as tightly as I could in my shock at how quickly we moved. The wings of the horse had unfurled and were each at least twice as long as the horse itself. As they flapped, they beat huge gusts of air enough to rip tents from the ground, and send them tumbling over each other. Some of the onrushing attackers who had got closest were also sent sprawling on the ground which made me and the sun laugh. I was amazed at the change that had come over them both. It seemed like being together increased their strength.

   We flew in circles gaining altitude. I hoped this would mean that we had left the danger behind. But it seemed I was wrong. Rocks and other missiles were being hurled at us. Some landed in the chariot with us. Luckily at this height the ones that struck the winged horse just bounced off of its side and only seemed to anger it more. What did seem dangerous though were the great machines they were rolling out. They looked like giant sideways bows. One of them shot us. We narrowly managed to avoid the rope it shot, and I saw the curved spike it had on its end. We had to get away from them.

   As we got higher still the only light I could see was the glow from the sun’s eyes, and from the huge fires beyond the camp. The sun looked intently and we began flying towards them. We cleared the camp and came over the fire. Even from the height we were at I could feel the incredible heat it made. As I looked at the fire something terrifying happened. The fire rose up to us! Surely it would engulf us. Wonderfully, that did not happen though. The fire was absorbed by the sun, the horse, and the chariot. They all began to glow, and then shine brilliantly. It was miraculous. The wonder of it all did not stop there. As the sun consumed more of the light her wounds seemed to disappear, her thin and wasted frame grew full and healthy. I looked at her in awe, and felt summer returning to the world.

   The chariot jolted, and the light faded. The fire spilled back down to the ground. We had come so close! From the edge of the chariot I looked down. It seemed like the camp had emptied. There were thousands of figures down below eagerly waiting for us to fall out of the sky. The sun collapsed as the strength was drawn from her. I was frantic. How could this be happening? Faintly I heard a voice rising up from the crowd, speaking words I did not understand. Searching for the source of the voice I eventually saw in the middle of the crowd a grand looking figure. It was taller than the rest, and rather than the ugly, dirty leather the others wore, this one was in a black robe. With one hand it gestured angrily at the sun, in the other it held a great book. It was speaking some terrible magic. Surely this was the one who had caused everything to go wrong. Only foul magic could have plucked the sun out of the sky. Only such wicked cruelty could have destroyed the lives of my people and set me on this journey. All the pain and hardship me and my people had endured was because of this hateful figure and that book! In my anger I picked up one of the rocks that had landed in the chariot and launched it as hard as I could at that evil wizard.

   The rock whistled through the air, arrow straight, and made an especially satisfying “thunk” as it bounced off the middle of the wizard’s head. All of the assembled crowd looked at the wizard as he stopped speaking, stood for a moment confused, before falling straight forward to the ground.

   Panic shot straight through the crowd. They began screaming and falling over each other as they ran in fear. The sun, released from the wizard’s spell absorbed the rest of the fire, and shone brightly. I laughed as I soaked up the light and our success. The horse flapped its wings with ferocious strength and we soared high above the mountains, above the clouds, and sped over the lands I had crept so slowly across in the dark. Weariness overtook me and I sat down in the chariot exhausted. So much had happened. When was the last time I had slept? It had been such a long night. The longest night there ever was I thought as I fell asleep, with the sun smiling down at me.

   I awoke with the sun high in the sky. Brilliant light washed over the world, and I blinked in amazement. As I got used to the brightness, I realised I was looking at a familiar sight again. It was my town. The sun had brought me home and not wasted any more time before ascending to the heavens again. I smiled up at the sun. We had done it! We had come through darkness deeper than any before, overcome black magic, and now all was light again. Already the trees seemed to be standing tall and bushy. Rich, vibrant colours had replaced the dull decay that had been everywhere before. As I looked around, blinking now through tears of joy, I heard a sound which brought the warmth of the sun to my heart. There was laughter and music drifting over to me from my town. My people were feasting and dancing again. They were living. Without waiting a moment longer, I ran down to join them, and celebrate a beautiful day.

Leave a comment